Linuxdoc Linux Questions
Click here to ask our community of linux experts!
Custom Search
Next Previous Contents

8. Credits

Thanks to the following people who have provided advice, errata, and examples for this document.

Paul D. Smith <psmith@BayNetworks.COM> and Christophe Martin <cmartin@ipnl.in2p3.fr> both pointed out that I had the quotes the wrong way round in the bash $PROMPT_COMMAND. Getting them right means variables are expanded dynamically.

Paul D. Smith <psmith@BayNetworks.COM> suggested the use of \[...\] in the bash prompt for embedding non-printing characters.

Christophe Martin <cmartin@ipnl.in2p3.fr> provided the solution for ksh.

Keith Turner <keith@silvaco.com> supplied the escape sequences for Sun cmdtool and shelltool.

Jean-Albert Ferrez <ferrez@dma.epfl.ch> pointed out some inconsistencies in the use of "PWD" and "$PWD", and in the use of "\" vs "\\".

Bob Ellison <papillo@hpellis.fc.hp.com> and Jim Searle <jims@broadcom.com> tested dtterm on HP-UX.

Teng-Fong Seak <seak@drfc.cad.cea.fr> suggested the -s option for hostname, use of `pwd`, and use of echo under csh.

Trilia <trilia@nmia.com> suggested examples in other languages.

Brian Miller <bmiller@telstra.com.au> supplied the escape sequences and examples for hpterm.

Lenny Mastrototaro <lenny@click3x.com> explained the Irix terminals' use of xterm escape sequences.

Paolo Supino <paolo@init.co.il> suggested the use of \\$ in the bash prompt.


Next Previous Contents